If the Georgia DDS or Georgia courts have suspended your license and you are caught driving, you can face jail time and fines. It is important you understand the charges and potential sentences you are facing. Contact us for a evaluation of your case today.
Your license can be suspended for a very wide variety of reasons.
The State of Georgia can (and sometimes must) suspend you license for the following offenses:
Potential Sentences for Driving while Under Suspension
If you are found driving while your license is suspended, you will be charged with a misdemeanor, as long it is your first offense or your first offense within 5 years.
For a 1st offense driving while license suspended conviction in Georgia, you face:
- jail time of at least two days, and up to 12 months.
- fines up to $1,000.
For second and subsequent offenses, you will be charged with a misdemeanor of high and aggravated nature.
The penalty for 2nd offense driving on a suspended license is:
jail time of no less than 10 days to no more than 12 months.
- fines of $1,000- $2,500
The same potential sentences apply to pleas of nolo contendere (no contest)
*In all driving under suspension cases, your license will be confiscated, attached to the citation and forwarded to the Department. You suspension will be extended for 6 months.
Pleading nolo contendere
Only one plea of nolo contendere (no contest) will be accepted within a five year period. After the first nolo plea, they will be treated as a conviction.
How will I be able to get my license back after a suspension period?
Getting you license reinstated once you have fulfilled all of the requirements of the court and your period of suspension is passed is fairly simple. You can contact the Department of Drivers Services in Atlanta, write to the Department in Conyers, Georgia, or contact any Division that offers full reinstatement services.