If you are involved in an auto accident with another person, it is your duty to stop and speak with them.
If you are facing charges related to leaving the scene of the accident, it is possible under the statute to be looking at jail time, although this is only a real risk in cases with serious injuries involved. If you need information on the charges you are facing and how a qualified attorney can help, call for a consultation about your case today.
What are my responsibilities after a car accident?
If you get in an accident with another person that causes damage to their vehicle, or personal injury under Georgia law you have a duty to stop as quickly as possible. If you can’t stop on the spot, you are required to immediately return to the scene of the accident. You also have a duty and are required to:
- Give your name, contact information and registration information to the other party,
- If requested, show the other party your driver’s license, and
- Render reasonable assistance to any injured parties.
What if I don’t stop?
If you leave the scene of the accident, you could be charged with hit and run and face applicable consequences.
If the accident caused damage to the other vehicle and/or injury to the other party, you will probably be charged with a misdemeanor.
Potential Sentences for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Georgia
First Offense: If this is a first hit and run offense, you will face the potential sentence of $300 to $1,000 in fines and up to one year in jail.
Second Offense: If this is the second time you have been convicted of hit and run in the past 5 years, you face a fine of $600 to $1,000 and jail time of up to one year.
Third and subsequent Offenses: If this makes more than two times you have been convicted of hit and run within the past five years, you will pay $1,000 and up to one-year imprisonment.
Hit and Run Resulting in Death
If someone died as a result of the accident, and you do not stop, you will face felony charges of first-degree homicide by vehicle. The potential sentence for this felony is 1 to 5 years in prison.
What can I do if I got charged with a hit and run?
I understand that many people don’t know what to do after causing an accident, or sometimes just panic. In some cases, a person doesn’t even think they caused any damage until they hear from the police.
There are absolutely excellent legal options to avoid the most serious charges. We will work to avoid a permanent criminal record on your background check wherever possible.
Please call us today to speak about your best legal defense options.
If the fines will cause financial hardship on you, the court can accept payments towards the amount rather than require the total due up front.